Monday, February 17, 2014

HOW TO GO GLUTEN FREE , A comprehensive Guide To Going Gluten free ( keep checking back for updated and continued Imformation)

How to go gluten free.
So you have either been instructed by your doctor , or a friend or have done re-search on your own and you must go gluten free, Don't panic I know its quite a bit to take in,
What was that? Dairy free and nut free too! The list goes on ?
If it does than this is the place for you .

Keep in mind if you wish to get tested via testing.
Starting the gluten-free diet before being tested for celiac disease makes an accurate diagnosis difficult.
In another Post Link here (POST COMING SOON)
I will talk about how to get diagnosed and all the information that goes along with that.


I will try to break them up if I can :
BE A LABEL READER!!!
Going Gluten free ( if the whole family is going gluten free)

***

First I would start with going through your kitchen and pantry and remove UN-wanted gluten, give it to another family if they can use it ,some ppl do that and some friends hand them some $$ to help get them started on the gluten free path .

What are items I need to Eliminate from my kitchen / Pantry and Freezers ?

1) Remove all Gluten products : Foods/products that may contain gluten:
Beers, Ales, Lager, Breading & Coating Mixes, Brown Rice Syrup, Communion Wafers, Croutons, Dressings, Drugs & Over-the-Counter Medications, Energy Bars, Flour & Cereal Products, Herbal Supplements, Imitation Bacon, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Nutritional Supplements, Pastas, Processed Luncheon Meats, Sauces & Gravies, Self-basting Poultry, Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, Soup Bases, Stuffing’s, Dressings, Thickeners (Roux), Vitamins & Mineral Supplements

Stay away from : Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale.

Cutting boards ?
Pots and Pans and Knives and Silverware = I find that these item's if properly cleaned with be okay , but if you feel safe or of course if you have a Celiac that has a life threatening allergy to it then best to change all those out too.


How about alcohol?
Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten free. Distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten-peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This process leaves the resultant liquid gluten free. Wine and hard liquor beverages are gluten free. Beers, ales, lagers and malt vinegars are NOT gluten free. There are Many Gluten-free beers available .

Remember – Wheat Free is NOT GLUTEN FREE Spelt, rye or barley-based ingredients that are not gluten free. Spelt is a form of wheat.

What you can have – Fresh Meats – Beware of Added Broths and such , broths can contain gluten ! Fruits, Veggies, Beans, Seeds , Nuts, Plain Tofu ( Avoid Tofu with flavoring and such as they may contain Soy Sauce and other items that contain Gluten )
I love eating Seasonally more on that here __________________.

Grains & Starches allowed:
Rice Sweet Brown, White Rice, Brown Rice (and of course we know there are many different kinds of rice , red , black so forth , Corn (Maize), Soy, Potato, Tapioca, Beans, Garfava, Sorghum, Quinoa, Millet, Buckwheat, Arrowroot, Amaranth, Teff, Montina, Flax and Nut Flours Mesquite Flour.





Condiments You can have (if in doubt call and re-search yourself they may of revised there product and I did not know about it , I try to keep up with it all , but its no easy lol !!! )
Soy Sauce and Other along that Line :
They do make a Gluten free Soy Sauce and a Gluten free Tamari Sauce Tamari Soy Sauce, Wheat Free, Organic, 10 oz by: San-J (& they are GMO FREE : ).
***



UPDATE INFO AS OF 03/13/2014
***
Kikkoman Soy Sauces do not list peanuts or tree nuts as ingredients, but are there any nuts at the manufacturing plant? The all-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce and the Kikkoman Less Sodium Soy Sauce are brewed at the Kikkoman Foods, Inc. plant in Walworth, WI where there are no peanuts or tree nuts ingredients. Please check the back of your label to see where the product was made.
BUT they are not GMO free :(


I actually prefer and use Braggs Amino Acids in place of my Soy Sauce .
Coconut Secret makes a Coconut Amino Acids as well.

Fish Sauce – We Love Using Red Boat Fish Sauce its amazing and Gluten free and , nut free!
Mayo and Mustard – just not the

Mayo : I make my own Mayo Here is My Recipe for Homemade Mayo (I use Duck eggs but you use your egg of Choice)
But if you wish to buy it these brands are safe :
1) Spectrum Canola Mayonnaise
2) Bestfoods
Gluten-free information on 2/24/2010 from Best Foods web site (www.bestfoods.com):
Gluten and Allergen informationAt this time, all Hellmann’s® and Best Foods® mayonnaise products are gluten-free.
Since product formulations change from time to time, the best advice we can give you is to check the ingredient list on the label.
3) Hellmann's Mayonnaise®
From the Hellmann's website FAQ page (
www.hellmanns.com) on 6/4/2009:
Question: Are Hellmann’s mayonnaise products gluten free?
Answer: At this time, All Hellmann's mayonnaise products are gluten-free (Real, Canola, Light and Reduced Fat). Since product formulations change from time to time, the best advice we can give you is to check the ingredient list on the label. Ingredients that may contain any of the top eight allergens as defined by the FDA, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, fish, seafood, wheat, eggs, and milk or dairy, as well as any ingredient that may contain gluten, are always listed on the label.

Mustard :
1) Q: Are French's® Mustard’s gluten free?
A: Yes, they are gluten free.

2) Grey Poupon’s Dijon Mustard isn’t just a great addition to your meal, but it’s also an award-winning condiment that was given the gold medal in the Worldwide Mustard Competition. Made with mustard seeds, white wine, herbs and spices, this gluten-free mustard pays homage to the original Dijon recipe which hails from a French city of the same name.

3) Annie's Naturals Organic Dijon Mustard . Is gluten free and delicious.

4) Koops Mustard Deli Spicy Brown is Gluten Free

Worcestershire Sauce This is one product I see allot of ppl use in there cooking what I often run into is that they use the reguar familiar brand but that Brand Is NOT gluten free! :(

1) Edward & Sons Organic Vegan Worcestershire Sauce – delicious!!!!! and Vegan too!


2) WanJaShan Organic Gluten Free Worcestershire Sauce - Seasoning, Dressing, Marinading 10 oz
Vinegars : 1. Is distilled vinegar gluten free? Yes, 100% distilled vinegar is made from distilled alcohol and all “pure” distilled alcohol is gluten free. This is true even if the starting material is wheat, barley, or rye. During distillation the liquid from fermented grain mash is boiled and the resulting vapor is captured and cooled. This causes the vapor to become liquid again. Because protein doesn’t vaporize there are no proteins in the cooled liquid.

2. Is all non-distilled vinegar gluten free? Almost, but read ingredient lists carefully. According to The Vinegar Institute, the most commonly used starting materials for vinegar are apple, grape, corn, and rice. If non-distilled vinegar uses .

Pure distilled vinegar is gluten free, malt vinegar is not. Flavored and seasoned vinegars may contain gluten, most typically in the form of malt, so ingredient lists should be carefully read. If wheat protein is contained in vinegar, the label will say so. The single word “vinegar” on a food label implies cider/apple vinegar and is gluten free.
HERE IS A GOOD LINK that goes into depth :http://www.diet.com/dietblogs/read_blog.php?title=Vinegar%3A+When+Is+It+Gluten-Free%3F&blid=16123&page=1

My Favorite Vinegars !
1) Braggs Raw unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar
2) Four Monks White Distilled Vinegar ( though in all honestly I normally use this for my home made house cleaners ) - (HERE )


OILS To my understanding Oils are normally Gluten-free , Unless Stated Clearly on the label !Salad Dressing (s)
I make my own but I thought I would list some here for you all.
Gluten-free food list information from the Newman's Own website
on
Newman's Own Dressing products that are gluten-free: as of 3/09/2010
  • Olive Oil & Vinegar Dressing
  • Light Italian Dressing
  • Ranch Dressing
  • Caesar Dressing
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Creamy Caesar Dressing
  • Parmesan & Roasted Garlic Dressing
  • Two Thousand Island Dressing
  • Creamy Italian Dressing
  • Red Wine Vinegar & Olive Oil Dressing
  • Poppy Seed Dressing
  • Orange Ginger Dressing
  • Light Raspberry Walnut Dressing
  • Light Red Wine Vinegar & Olive Oil Dressing
  • Light Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Light Caesar Dressing
  • Light Honey Mustard Dressing
  • Light Sun Dried Tomato Italian Dressing
  • Three Cheese Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Organic Tuscan Italian Dressing In 12 fl oz Plastic Bottle
  • Organic Light Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Light Roasted Garlic Balsamic Dressing
  • Light Cranberry Walnut Dressing
  • Southwest Dressing
  • Light Lime Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Greek Dressing
  • Balsamic Salad Mist
  • Italian Salad Mist


AND I though I would share Via Link , She did a 2013 update list :
http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/Gluten-Free-Condiments/a/Gluten-Free-Salad-Dressing.htm
Gluten free Store Bought Breads

MY BREAD RECIPE :
http://joannaorganicchefandhealthenthusiast.blogspot.com/2012/05/joannas-gluten-free-quick-allergen-free.html
Udi's Gluten Free Bread and Products (contains eggs) (Our baked goods are completely nut free and made in dedicated nut free (tree nut & peanut free) facilities. Some of our granola products do contain nuts, however these are made in completely separate plants from the rest of our gluten free baked goods. Additionally, our three new cookie varieties (Peanut Butter Coconut, Maple Pecan Chocolate Chip and Salted Caramel Cashew) are also made in a separate bakery. Please check out our product catalog for the list of ingredients in each of our products. )

http://udisglutenfree.com/


Schar
http://www.schar.com/
(egg free,tree nut and peanut free )


My LOCAL Franz Bakery carries gluten free bread – I purchase that for my girls – it contains eggs. (IF I im in a fix and dont have any of mine made ) .
Always check your local bakery’s allot are offering gluten free breads and goodies, always ask about contamination and other ingredient 's if you have any other allergies.



COPYRIGHT AND ADVISORY
COPYRIGHTED: JoAnnaGlutenFreeChef&HealthEnthusiast All images & content are copyright protected. Please do not use my images without prior permission or posts. ALWAYS link back to my blog. NEVER COPY AND PASTE. There is a SHARE Button to share posts and recipes , or Share directly from the link, Thank you.
2009-2014 JoAnna L McGarvie

No comments:

Post a Comment